image description

Meet the Council of the District of Carleton North

Following the Municipal Election held on November 28th, 2022 the following individuals were elected as members of the District of Carleton North Council, taking effect January 1st, 2023. 

Andrew Harvey

Andrew Harvey


Karen Hargrove

Karen Hargrove

Deputy Mayor

Laurel Bradstreet

Laurel Bradstreet

Councillor At Large

Michael Stewart

Michael Stewart

Councillor of Ward 1

Chala Watson

Chala Watson

Councillor of Ward 2

Scott Oakes

Scott Oakes

Councillor of Ward 3

Angel Connor

Angel Connor

Councillor of Ward 5

Committees of Council 

Administration Committee 

Mandate: Review and develop by-laws and policies, as well as human resources, community engagement and communication strategies.

Chair: Councillor Angel Connor

Committee Members: Deputy Mayor Karen Hargrove, Councillor Laurel Bradstreet

Economic Development Committee 

Mandate: Develop economic growth strategies through consultation with businesses and community organizations to grow the local economy.

Chair: Councillor Ray Haines

Committee Members: Councillor Angel Connor, Councillor Michael Stewart

Finance Committee

Mandate: Make recommendations to Council on General and Utility Capital and Operating Budget considerations.

Chair: Deputy Mayor Karen Hargrove

Council Members: Councillor Scott Oakes, Councillor Ray Haines

Operations Committee 

Mandate: Develop a priority plan for provincial and municipal roads and municipal infrastructure.

Chair: Councillor Michael Stewart

Committee Members: Councillor Laurel Bradstreet, Councillor Chala Watson

Policing Model Committee (Ad Hoc)

Mandate: Propose a functioning and sustainable policing model to the Public Safety Committee for the District of Carleton North

Chair: Councillor Scott Oakes

Committee Members: Jason Hickey, Mike Nixon, Kris Foster, Paula Baker, Sean Kilfoil.

Provincial Service Committee 

Mandate: Advocate for a fair level of provincial services in the District of Carleton North, including the development of a school infrastructure plan and all provincial department priorities.

Chair: Councillor Scott Oakes

Committee Members: Councillor Chala Watson, Deputy Mayor Karen Hargrove

Public Safety Committee

Mandate: Develop strategies around current policing, fire protection and emergency measures.

Chair: Councillor Laurel Bradstreet

Committee Members: Councillor Michael Stewart, Councillor Scott Oakes

Recreation & Tourism Committee

Mandate: Develop strategies around Tourism, Recreation and Culture, including Trails and facility usage.

Chair: Councillor Chala Watson

Committee Members: Councillor Ray Haines, Councillor Angel Connor

Sports Wall of Recognition Ad Hoc Committee

Mandate: To create a Carleton North Sports & Recreation Wall to recognize outstanding achievement and contributions to sports & recreation in the Carleton North area.

Chair: Mayor Andrew Harvey 

Committee Members: Ron Arbeau, Cheryl Crain,  Andrew Cougle, David Harvey, Rebecca Canam, Tom Tompkins, Grant Robinson, Vernon Thomas, and Gerald Sullivan

Ad Hoc Trail Committee

Mandate: To develop a Carleton North Trails Policy and make a recommendation to Council on various shared uses of the trail system, while respecting all users of the trails​​

Chair: Councillor Laurel Bradstreet

Committee Members: Cherie Derrah, Randy Broad, Chris White-Pickard, Rodney Broad, Ryan Dickinson, Richard Crompton and David Trafford as committee members. 

Andrew & Laura McCain Library Board

Council Representative: Deputy Mayor Karen Hargrove

Andrew & Laura McCain Art Gallery Board

Council Representative: Councillor Laurel Bradstreet